• Home
  • From the Director
Fabrice Kordon

The LIP6, Sorbonne University and French National Center for Scientific Research (UMR 7606 Sorbonne University - CNRS), is a computer science research laboratory dedicated to the modeling and the resolution of fundamental problems driven by applications, as well as to the implementation and the validation through academic and industrial partnerships.

Research is performed by 21 teams organized around four transversal axes:

One team is common with Inria Paris. We also host three ERC projects: In situ Topological Reduction of Scientific 3D Data (TORI, consolidator, led by Julien Tierny), Quantum Superiority with Coherent State (QUSCO, starting, led by Eleni Diamanti) and Modular Open Platform for Static Analysis (MOPSA, consolidator, led by Antoine Miné). We also had two other advanced ERC grants obtained at LIP6 by François Pachet and Antoine Joux. LIP6 also hosts two chaires of excellence : one of Vanda Luengo about “computer-based environment for human learning”, and the second of Isabelle Bloch about “Hybrid and explainable artificial intelligence - Applications in spatial reasoning”. We also hosted the chaire of Giovanni Pau about autonomous vehicles (ATOS/Renault).

The scientific production represents more than 500 publications per year. Approximately sixty theses are defended each year. Research conducted at LIP6 led to 84 patents and numerous software. Seven of our faculty members are (or were recently) members of the "Institut Universitaire de France".

LIP6 has recurrent International cooperations within its activities. It maintains close relationships with universities in many countries such as Brazil, the United States, Japan, China and numerous European countries. In addition to academic research, LIP6 has a long history of cooperation with industrial partners within many national, European or international projects.

LIP6 is very active within Sorbonne University and fosters transdisciplinary collaborations between the multiple research units of our university. LIP6 is strongly involved in two major initiatives of Sorbonne Université : SCAI (Sorbonne Center for Artificial Intelligence) started in 2019, and QICS (Quantum Information Center Sorbonne), started in 2020.

LIP6 is deeply involved in teaching its research in master degrees. The doctorate school of Paris EDITE (Ecole Doctorale d'Informatique, Télécommunication et Electronique de Paris) hosts our 188 PhD students.

Fabrice Kordon,
Director

2021 March

Fabrice Kordon

Le LIP6, Unité Mixte de Recherche de Sorbonne Université et du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (UMR 7606 Sorbonne Université - CNRS), est un laboratoire de recherche en informatique se consacrant à la modélisation et la résolution de problèmes fondamentaux motivés par les applications, ainsi qu'à la mise en oeuvre et la validation des solutions au travers de partenariats académiques et industriels.

La recherche est réalisée au sein de 21 équipes articulées autour de quatre axes transverses :

Une équipe est commune avec Inria Paris. Il accueille également trois projets ERC : In situ Topological Reduction of Scientific 3D Data (TORI, consolidator, porté par Julien Tierny), Quantum Superiority with Coherent State (QUSCO, starting, porté par Eleni Diamanti) et Modular Open Platform for Static Analysis (MOPSA, consolidator, porté par Antoine Miné). Auparavant, deux autres ERC advanced avaient été obtenues au LIP6 par François Pachet et Antoine Joux. Le LIP6 héberge également deux chaires d'excellence : celle de Vanda Luengo sur les Environnements Informatiques pour l’Apprentissage Humain et celle d'Isabelle Bloch sur Hybrid and explainable artificial intelligence - Applications in spatial reasoning. Nous avons également hébergé la chaire de Giovanni Pau sur les véhicules autonomes (avec ATOS/Renault).

La production scientifique est en moyenne de 500 publications par an. Une soixantaine de thèses sont soutenues chaque année. Les travaux menés au LIP6 ont donné lieu à 84 brevets et une forte production de logiciels. Sept enseignants-chercheurs sont, ou ont été, membres de l'Institut Universitaire de France.

La coopération internationale est une constante pour les activités du laboratoire. Il entretient des relations suivies avec des universités de nombreux pays comme le Brésil, les États-Unis, le Japon, la Chine et de nombreux pays européens. En complément de la recherche académique, le LIP6 a une longue tradition de coopération avec des partenaires industriels dans de nombreux projets nationaux, européens ou internationaux.

À l’échelle locale, notre laboratoire est également très actif au sein de Sorbonne Université où il favorise la collaboration transdisciplinaire entre laboratoires. Le LIP6 est très fortement impliqué dans deux initiatives majeures de Sorbonne Université : SCAI (Sorbonne Center for Artificial Intelligence) lancée en 2019, et QICS (Quantum Information Center Sorbonne), lancé en 2020.

Le laboratoire est grandement impliqué dans des enseignements liés à la recherche en master. L'école doctorale EDITE de Paris (Ecole Doctorale d'Informatique, Télécommunication et Electronique de Paris) accueille les 187 doctorants du laboratoire.

Fabrice Kordon,
Directeur du Laboratoire

mars 2021