LEJEUNE Jonathan

PhD graduated
Team : REGAL
Departure date : 09/30/2014

Supervision : Pierre SENS

Co-supervision : SOPENA Julien, ARANTES Luciana

Distributed mutual exclusion algorithmic : toward an efficient resource management 

Distributed large-scale systems such as Grids or Clouds provide large amounts of heterogeneous computing resources. Clouds manage ressource access by contracts that allow to define a quality of service (response time, availability, ...) that the provider has to respect. My thesis focuses on designing new distributed locking algorithms for large scale systems that integrate notions of quality of service. At first, my thesis targets distributed locking algorithms with constraints in terms of priorities and response time. Two mutual exclusion algorithms are proposed: a first algorithm takes into account client-defined priorities and a second one associates requests with deadlines. I then move on to a generalized mutual exclusion problem in order to allocate several types of heterogeneous resources in a exclusive way. I propose a new algorithm that reduces the cost of synchronization by limiting communication between non-conflicting processes. All algorithms have been implemented and evaluated over the national platform Grid 5000. Evaluations show that our algorithms satisfy applicative constraints while improving performance significatively in terms of resources use rate and response time.

Defence : 09/19/2014

Jury members :

Abdelmadjid Bouabdallah, Professeur UTC, (Rapporteur)
Christine Morin, Directrice de recherche Inria Rennes (Rapporteur)
Franck Petit, Professeur UPMC
Achour Mostefaoui, Professeur Université de Nantes
Mohamed Naimi, Professeur Université de Cergy-Pontoise

Pierre Sens, Directeur de recherche, INRIA/UPMC
Luciana Arantes, INRIA/UPMC
Julien Sopena ,INRIA/UPMC

Associate Professor

1 PhD graduated (Supervision / Co-supervision)

  • AGON-RAMBOSSON Aymeric : Maintien du groupe de sous-systèmes dans un environnement hautement hĂ©tĂ©rogène et dynamique

1 PhD graduated 2020

2011-2023 Publications