PhD graduated
Team : CIAN
Departure date : 08/31/2012

Supervision : Alain GREINER

Co-supervision : ABOUSHADY Hassan

Modulateurs Sigma Delta LC Monobloc d'Ordre Élevé

Software-Defined Radio (SDR) was envisioned in the late 1990’s. Since then, a lot of effort has been done to implement such a radio transceiver, where most of the analog functions such as down-conversion and channel-selection are moved to the digital domain. With these features a SDR could be easily programmed and adapted to new standards. However, its implementation using a Nyquist-rate Analog-to-Digital Converter (ADC) has been challenging and very power hungry, making it inappropriate for mobile applications.
Bandpass Sigma-Delta Modulator (SDM) using LC resonators are well suited for that purpose, as they can convert a narrow band around an Radio Frequency (RF) center frequency.
High-order LC-based SDMin the literature use the nodes between the LC tanks either for feedforward or feedback coefficients in order to obtain the desired Noise Transfer Function (NTF). These nodes are usually a source of additional noise, non-linearity and power consumption to the overall performance of the SDM.
In this work, a methodology to design high-order LC-Based single-block SDM is introduced. This opens the door to unexplored filter topologies such as high-order passively coupled LC filters and Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS) filters.
The main contributions of his work can be summarized in the following points:
- Design Methodology for LC-Based Single-Block Sigma-Delta Modulators
- Undersampled 4th order Capacitively-Coupled Sigma-Delta
- Systematic design procedures for the RF building blocks
- Design and Implementation of the first 4th Order Capacitively-Coupled LC-Based SDM

Defence : 11/26/2012

Jury members :

Catherine Dehollain, EPFL, Switzerland, [Rapporteur]
Jose-Manuel de la Rosa, Sevilla University, Spain, [Rapporteur]
Yuri Catunda, Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil.
Jan Westra, Broadcom, The Netherlands.
Christoph Hagleitner, IBM Research Laboratories, Switzerland.
Geoffroy Klisnick, University of Pierre and Marie Curie, France.
Habib Mehrez, University of Pierre and Marie Curie, France.
Hassan Aboushady, University of Pierre and Marie Curie, France.

Departure date : 08/31/2012

2009-2018 Publications

Mentions légales
Site map