PhD graduated
Team : NPA
Departure date : 12/31/2013

Supervision : Serge FDIDA

Co-supervision : MALOUCH Naceur

Sélection et transfert de spectre adaptatifs dans les réseaux de radio cognitive

Cognitive radio is proposed as a promising solution for the next generation of wireless communication networks. It provides a constructive solution for the spectrum shortage and spectrum inefficiency problems. Cognitive radio users are required to perform spectrum handoff from a wireless channel to another in order to cope with the dynamic spectrum environment imposed by licensed users. Spectrum handoff can cause transmission interruptions leading to the degradation of services. In this thesis, we study and develop efficient spectrum management strategies that aim to provide diverse service requirements for cognitive radio users. First, we propose novel spectrum handoff and selection strategies in order to satisfy a delay requirement. In particular, we estimate the delay of arrival packets based on the prior packets in the queue and compare it to a maximum delay bound. Then, we use the expected delays to estimate a delay violation ratio that guides the spectrum handoff and selection decisions. Our strategies reduce the number of spectrum handoff significantly compared to existing approaches while the delay requirement is guaranteed. Second, we consider the rate requirement by investigating the interaction between spectrum handoff and spectrum sharing through an optimization framework. The results provide useful insights and guidelines for designing efficient spectrum sharing heuristics that take into account spectrum handoff and selection strategies. Finally, we develop a heuristic for spectrum sharing that includes novel static and dynamic spectrum sharing algorithms based essentially on a rate compensation approach and adapted best fit algorithms. Our heuristic reduces the number of handoffs significantly while the achieved rate is fulfilling compared to the optimal.

Defence : 09/30/2013 - 14h30 - Site jussieu 25-26/105

Jury members :

Khaldoun Al Agha, Professeur, Universités Paris-Sud [Rapporteur]
Luciano Bononi, Associate Professor, University of Bologna [Rapporteur]
André-Luc Beylot, Professeur, Université de Toulouse
Vania Conan, Chef de service adjoint - HDR, Thales Communications & Security
Marcelo Dias de Amorim, Directeur de Recherche, CNRS,UPMC Sorbonne Universités
Kanchana Kanchanasut, Professeur, Asian Institute of Technology
Serge Fdida, Professeur, UPMC Sorbonne Universités
Naceur Malouch, Maître de conférences-HDR, UPMC Sorbonne Universités

2010-2016 Publications