to department
Staff directory
Projects
Publications
HAL
http://www-polsys.lip6.fr
Photo Responsable

Team : PolSys - Polynomial Systems


Team leader : Jean-Charles Faugère Site Jussieu 26-00/317

Short presentation

POLSYS/SALSA is a joint team between INRIA and University Pierre and Marie Curie. Our group is internationally recognized as one of the leading group in the area of solving systems of polynomial equations/inequalities (non-linear systems) using exact methods. Our goal is to develop efficient algorithms for computing the complex solutions and/or the real ones or in a finite field. Our group has developed several fundamental algorithms, in particular algorithms for computing Gröbner bases and algorithms based on the so-called critical point method. Complexity issues are also investigated and recently our group has obtained results for structured polynomial systems (systems with symmetries, overdetermined or bilinear systems,…) enabling to identify some classes of problems that can be solved in polynomial time.
The practical efficiency of our algorithms relies on highly efficient linear algebra libraries. Hence, our group is involved in the development of parallel high performance linear algebra packages. Algorithms and software developed by our group are validated by solving challenging applications arising in scientific computing. Beyond the wide range of studied applications, the group focuses on:

Our software are devoted to be used in real life applications and teaching. The valorization of this software activity is ensured by their integration in recent releases of the Computer Algebra system Maple (distributed by the WMI Canadian Company)
As a prospective subject, we investigate a new research direction which consists in exploiting interactions between symbolic and numeric computing.

Computer Algebra. Polynomial System Solving. Gröbner Bases. Complexity. Real roots. Parametric systems. Cryptology. Algebraic Cryptanalysis. Algebraic Computational Geometry. Applications. Symbolic/Numeric Interaction. Software. High performance Linear Algebra.

No event planned at present.

Archives

Selected publications

All

Contact

Jean-Charles.Faugere (at) nulllip6.fr

 Mentions légales
Site map |

vers département
Annuaire
Projets
Publications
HAL
http://www-polsys.lip6.fr
Photo Responsable

Équipe : PolSys - Systemes Polynomiaux (anciennement équipe SALSA)


Responsable : Jean-Charles Faugère Site Jussieu 26-00/317

Brève présentation

L’équipe-projet POLSYS/SALSA est une équipe commune entre l’INRIA et l’UPMC. L'équipe est reconnue internationalement comme une des équipes leader dans le domaine de la résolution des systèmes polynomiaux (systèmes non linéaires) par des méthodes exactes. L’objectif du projet est de développer des algorithmes les plus efficaces permettant de calculer les racines complexes, réelles ou dans un corps fini des systèmes polynomiaux. Parmi les algorithmes fondamentaux auxquels l’équipe a le plus contribué on peut citer les algorithmes de calcul de bases de Gröbner et les méthodes à base de points critiques. La complexité théorique des calculs est également au cœur des préoccupations des membres de l’équipe; récemment l’effort s’est porté sur l’obtention de résultats de complexité pour les systèmes structurés (systèmes ayant des symétries, systèmes bilinéaires ou surdéterminés, …) permettant d’identifier de nouvelles classes de problèmes résolubles en temps polynomial.
L’efficacité pratique de ces algorithmes les plus performants reposent essentiellement sur l’existence de librairies d’algèbre linéaire performantes ; l'équipe s'implique donc dans des implémentations parallèles hautes performances de telles librairies. Les algorithmes et les logiciels de l’équipe sont systématiquement utilisés pour résoudre des applications provenant de plusieurs domaines du calcul scientifique. Parmi ces domaines d’applications on peut citer :

De manière exploratoire, une nouvelle direction de recherche est envisagée visant l'interaction symbolique/numérique pour la résolution des systèmes.

Calcul Formel. Résolution des systèmes algébriques. Bases de Gröbner. Complexité. Racines réelles. Systèmes paramétrés. Cryptologie. Cryptanalyse Algébrique. Géométrie Algorithmique. Applications Interaction symbolique numérique. Logiciels. Algèbre linéaire haute performance.

Aucune manisfestation prévue actuellement.

Archives

Sélection de publications

Toutes

Contact

Jean-Charles.Faugere (at) nulllip6.fr

 Mentions légales
Carte du site |